Tags

, ,

Fabbioli Cellars has partnered with Whole Foods stores in the DMV (DC/MD/VA for non-locals) to produce an exclusive wine: Amici & Amanti. When I saw on our Twitter feed that there was going to be tasting at all Whole Foods in the area, I popped up to my nearest store. When I went to Winesday, I saw the display at store so I just needed a taste and satisfy my curiousity.

amiciamanti

Kelley was sick so I was solo on this trip. He told me to buy something he would like. Really?!? With 58% Chambourcin, I figured he would like it but I was a little nervous because what if he didn’t. One night when he was feeling better and after the kids went to bed, we had “date night in.” I made a mini cheese plate with cranberry chipotle cheddar, some crackers and dark chocolate caramel clusters. All of which I picked up at Aldi.

<<Sidebar: I LOVE that store! If you have any doubt, read this post about them. This helped me with shopping there.>>

Back to the wine…we pulled up some chairs to our kitchen counter and commenced sipping. You can definitely smell the Chambourcin and taste a little of the Merlot. This is a full-body wine that falls into our not-too-dry-not-too-sweet category. With a nice deep purple color, the wine has a very slight peppery taste and no oak flavor so you know it’s been aged in steel. The mix of grapes really make it a versatile wine and it could be served with a variety of dishes. The cheese we had went really well and I LOVE chocolate with red wine. Something about it just totally shifts the taste. In the future, I would serve it with lamb or beef as an additional option.

Kelley said this would be great date wine. If you want to impress, this is the way to go and it won’t break you. It costs $16.99 which is a good price. Kelley also told me to note that this wine sets the mood for some lovin’.

We tend to like blends served chilled. To us, the flavor is just better.

A ::TOAST:: to date night in!

