Tags

,

Society Fair recently held a Tasting Soiree and we attended. The event was an opportunity to taste Billecart-Salmon Champagnes. I tried to take pictures but they kept coming out blurry so no photos this go round. The cafe had 5 stations inclusive of 5 different champagnes along with speciality pricing. I was a little dissapointed because only tasting 5 was a small portion but to their credit, Billecart-Salmon has some pricey wines. Station #1 had the Billecart-Salmon Brut Reserve. It was 30% Chardonnay, 30% Pinot Noir and 40% Pinot Meunier. This was my favorite. It was dry but not too dry. The wine cost was $49.99

Station #2 had the Billecart-Salmon Brut Vintage. This one had no sugar and you could tell. It was really dry. The price was $94.99

Station #3 had the Billecart-Salmon Brut Rose. This one was pretty good. Apparently, those that normally don’t like roses like this one. Kelley liked it but it didn’t move me. The price was $84.99.

Station #4 offered the Billecart-Salmon Sous Bois. I must say that the gentleman at this station knew the least about the wine but he put on a really good front when I asked him questions. This was one of their most recent releases. I didn’t like it. Kelley did. It was priced at $89.99

Lastly at Station #5, there was the Billecart-Salmon Cuvee Nicolas Francois. I heard a woman in front of me at another station saying that she loved this one so I was excited to try it. And well you guesed it, I didn’t care for that one either. Or I should say, it was ok. Kelley on the other hand, yup…liked it. It was dry but was supposed be bottled in 1999 so ultra chi-chi. This one rang in at $99.99.

Now folks, if money wasn’t an object, I would buy the Reserve. I liked it the best. It was the crisp Champagne taste with the slightest hint of sweet. Kelley even agreed but he still liked the Cuvee. All in all the snacks were great and going to this event at diverse “foodie” venue was something different yet fun. We winded up making a night of it and went out to dinner, too.

By the way, if you haven’t read our previous post about pricing out wines, I suggest you do so after you read this post and we’ll leave it at that regarding the prices.

 

