Tags

, ,

The Doc and I decided to partake in the March wine dinner sponsored by Port of Leonardtown Winery. There were 5 courses and they were paired with a tasting of Port Leonardtown wine. The food was prepared by Quality Street Catering. I have to give the Doc photo credit because I left my phone at home on the kitchen table so Thanks Doc!

First Course: Roasted Butternut & Ginger Soup paired with McIntosh Run (apple wine). This soup was so good. It was creamy and comforting. It paired very well with the McIntosh Run. I’m thinking because traditionally apple and squash make a great combination

Soup pol

 

Second Course: Smoked Gouda & White Cheddar Macaroni & Cheese with Pancetta & Carmelized Onions. The hostess explained that we could pair this with either their Chardonnay or Chambourcin Reserve. We chose the latter. It complemented so well. The mac wasn’t as cheesy as I usually like and I’m also not a big pancetta fan but having that bacon wasn’t overpowering and the dish was still good in light of these two things.

Mac cheese pol

 

 

Third Course: Cherry & Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms paired with Chambourcin Reserve. This was my favorite course of the whole night. I loved these mushrooms! The cherries combined with the sausage was such a unique taste and it paired so well with red wine. The mushroom filling had a creamy base that just all blended so well.

Mushrooms pol

 

 

Fourth Course: Ham, Brie, & Chutney Biscuits and served with the Chaptico Rose. These biscuits were so good. I’m thinking they were cream biscuits because they were dense but the filling plus adding the fresh rosemary made it tasty.
image

Fifth Course: Rustic Peach Tart served with Breton Bay Breeze. The peach tart was essentially a mini peach pie but with the sweetness of the Breton Bay Breeze, it was really great. I can say, I was secretly hoping they would pair it with the Autumn Frost dessert wine but alas I was wrong.

Dessertpol

 

The Doc and I had a good time. It’s always fun to get together with a girlfriend over wine and food. However, I must say the portions were smaller than I hoped, one more mushroom or one more biscuit would have set me over the top but otherwise the food itself was very good. I’ve had all the wine before so I was familiar with them but I would have liked just a bit more because it was essentially two tasting pours. 2 1/2 or 3 pours would have been better. If you want something unique to do in S. MD, definitely give this a shot.

