image

I particated in a wine tasting event with an organization I belong to one beautiful Sunday afternoon at Romano Winery. Our tasting was led by Joann Romano, the co-owner of Romano Winery, which is located in Brandywine, MD. I ended up at what I dub the “sweet table.” All but one of my table mates liked sweet wine.

image

We started the tasting from the top and I found it interesting that Romano has only steel tanks. I was curious how this impacted the flavor of the varietals. From what I could tell the lasting finish wasn’t there where its present in many oaked wines. The stand outs for me where the Rougenon and the Fallen Leaf. Both seemed to be good summer sip wines. They weren’t sweet and weren’t dry either, definitely in the middle.

Romano has great prices with wines costing $12- $16. We also tried the wine slushies they had but those were a little two sweet for me but I did like the idea of a wine slushy.

The day definitely made for a sweet afternoon.

